Category Archives: CNSC Events

Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Club #39

Stories of your Life and Others by Ted Chiang

For December’s book club meeting we will be reading Stories of Your Life and Others by Ted Chiang. Stories of Your Life and Others consists of eight astonishing science-fiction stories that explore the boundaries between science and religion, between determinism and our ability to choose, between words and the entities they describe. Here are stories

CNSC at Adler After Dark

Date: Jan 17th at 7:00pm Location: Adler Planetarium Cost: $15/person Registration: Eventbrite Registraiton The Chicago Nerd Social Club is teaming up with the Adler Planetarium to take us where nerds have always dreamed of going. SPACE! We’re headed to the Planetarium for their Adler After Dark series! Enjoy cocktails and entertainment against the award-winning view

Election Eve Town Hall Debate: DC vs Marvel

When: Monday November 5th from 7:00pm to 9:00pm Where: Third Coast Comics 6234 N. Broadway Ave, Chicago IL Cost: Free Registration: http://marvelvsdc.eventbrite.com   This election season, YOU can make a difference. Once and for all, we’re going to lay to rest the age old nerd-rivalry of comic books. Marvel or DC? Batman or Iron Man?

Nerd-o-ween 2012!

Date:  October 26th 2012 at 7pm Location: The Drinkingbird 2201 N. Clybourn Ave, Chicago IL Ticket Price:  Free (but you must register at http://www.eventbrite.com/event/4628724640)   Tis the season! No not that season, I’m talking about NERD SEASON! The long awaited, much delayed announcement for Nerd-o-ween is here. This year we’ll be back at a familiar place

Science Fiction & Fantasy Bookclub #38

tlp_cover

For November’s book club meeting we will be reading The Last Policeman: A Novel by Ben H. Winters. What’s the point in solving murders if we’re all going to die soon, anyway? Detective Hank Palace has faced this question ever since asteroid 2011GV1 hovered into view. There’s no chance left. No hope. Just six precious

Science Fiction & Fantasy Bookclub #37

oryx_and_crake.large

For October’s book club meeting we will be reading Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood. Oryx and Crake is at once an unforgettable love story and a compelling vision of the future. Snowman, known as Jimmy before mankind was overwhelmed by a plague, is struggling to survive in a world where he may be the

Science Fiction & Fantasy Bookclub #36

ForeverWar

For September’s book club meeting we will be reading The Forever War by Joe Haldeman. It explores of the inhumanity of war and of bureaucracy, and of the psychological effects resulting from the time dilation of space travel (a soldier returns home after centuries away), The Forever War has won the Nebula Award in 1975,

Science Fiction & Fantasy Bookclub #35

Wool_Omnibus

For August’s meeting, we’ll be reading Wool Omnibus (the collected Wool 1-5) by Hugh Howey. The omnibus’s trailer was picked up by Gizmodo, where Joe Brown calls it “one of the best works of fiction I’ve ever read.” Originally self-published (now picked up by Random House) and started as a short story in 2011, but widely

Science Fiction & Fantasy Bookclub #34

redshirts

For July’s meeting, we’ll be reading Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas by John Scalzi. A Star Trek parody in the vein of Galaxy Quest, Redshirts follows a group of easily-sacrificeable characters on board the Universal Union starship Intrepid who start realizing that the high mortality rates of their colleagues is no coincidence. Join us

Science Fiction & Fantasy Bookclub #33

locke-key-1-welcome-to-lovecraft-hc-w-logos

For June’s meeting, we’ll be reading Locke and Key, Vol. 1: Welcome to Lovecraft by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez. We’re returning to the graphic novel format after our successful last foray with Fables exactly two years ago. Locke and Key has won an Eisner for Best Writer and a British Fantasy Award for Best