We accept events to our calendar that are:
1. nerdy, and
2. in the Chicago area

Events that do not satisfy both criteria may not be published. Thanks!

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Launch for Ada Palmer’s Too Like the Lightning

May 16, 2016 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

| Free

Tor Books is pleased to announce the launch event for the first novel in a new political science fiction series, TOO LIKE THE LIGHTNING by debut novelist Ada Palmer on Monday, May 16th at 6:00 PM at 57th Street Books 1301 E. 57th Street, Chicago, IL 60637.

Palmer’s unique vision mixes Enlightenment-era philosophy with traditional science fiction speculation to bring to life the year 2454, not a perfect future, but a utopian one, described by a narrator writing in an antiquated form to catalog the birth of a revolution. The result is The Iliad meets I, Claudius mixed with the enthusiasm of The Stars My Destination and Gene Wolfe style world building.

Perfect for fans of Jo Walton, Robert Charles Wilson and Kim Stanley Robinson, Too Like The Lightning is a refreshing change of pace from the current trend of gritty, dystopian novels. Much like Homer telling of heroic deeds and wine dark seas, Mycroft Canner’s narration will draw you into the world of Terra Ignota—a world simmering with gender politics and religious fervor just beneath the surface, on the brink of revolutionary change.

Ada Palmer is a professor in the history department of the University of Chicago, specializing in Renaissance history and the history of ideas. Her first nonfiction book, Reading Lucretius in the Renaissance, was published in 2014 by Harvard University Press. She is also a composer of folk and Renaissance-tinged a capella music, most of which she performs with the group Sassafrass. Her personal site is at adapalmer.com, and she writes about history for a popular audience at exurbe.com and about SF and fantasy-related matters at Tor.com.

Details

Date:
May 16, 2016
Time:
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Category:
Website:
http://www.semcoop.com/event/ada-palmer-too-lightning-david-m-perry

Organizer

57th Street Books
Phone:
773.752.4381
Email:
Website:
http://www.semcoop.com/event/ada-palmer-too-lightning-david-m-perry

Venue

57th Street Books
1301 E. 57th Street, Chicago, IL 60637 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
773.752.4381

Please note: Although all submitted events are reviewed prior to publishing, Chicago Nerd Social Club cannot guarantee the accuracy of event information. Check with the event organizer for complete details.