Science Fiction & Fantasy Bookclub #34

redshirts

For July’s meeting, we’ll be reading Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas by John Scalzi. A Star Trek parody in the vein of Galaxy Quest, Redshirts follows a group of easily-sacrificeable characters on board the Universal Union starship Intrepid who start realizing that the high mortality rates of their colleagues is no coincidence.

Join us for discussion of our current book as well as helping decide our next selection.

This is what you missed at our last bookclub meeting:

We read Locke and Key, Vol. 1: Welcome to Lovecraft by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez, a good return to the trade paperback comic format after our last foray with Fables exactly two years ago. We enjoyed it quite a bit, though there were a few complaints about early character design. Most thought it a bit short for our current format—some of us continued through a few more volumes.

When: Monday, July 9, 2011 – 6:30pm-8:00pm

Where: Filter, 1373-75 N Milwaukee Ave Chicago, IL

Cost: Free

2 Responses to Science Fiction & Fantasy Bookclub #34

  1. Bill says:

    So I’m thinking about joining you guys as I’m still fairly new to Chicago and don’t know a lot of people up here. I thought this was a good starting point as I’ve been wanting to read this since it came out. Problem is, I just got it yesterday and I don’t think I can finish the 637 pages my Nook claims it is in six days. Can we still join in if we haven’t finished the book? I’m sure I’ll be close but wanted to make sure. Also, do we just show up or do we have to sign up for the club, or something. (First time trying this kind of thing out. All my gaming buddies/fellow geeks are back in St. Louis.) Thanks everyone!

  2. Anne says:

    Totally. Just show up. Lots of times folks join us even if they haven’t finished (as long as they don’t mind spoilers). It is a fast read, though. No signup necessary, though we do have a Facebook Group where we announce the event and get RSVPs, if you like.

    We’d be happy to have you join us, and welcome to Chicago!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>