Science Fiction & Fantasy Bookclub #35

Wool_Omnibus

For August’s meeting, we’ll be reading Wool Omnibus (the collected Wool 1-5) by Hugh Howey. The omnibus’s trailer was picked up by Gizmodo, where Joe Brown calls it “one of the best works of fiction I’ve ever read.”

Originally self-published (now picked up by Random House) and started as a short story in 2011, but widely well-reviewed, Wool takes place in a post-apocalyptic subterranean city called Silo. Per Wikipedia: “There is one paramount law within the Silo: never say you want to go outside, for if you do, you will get your wish.”

Join us for discussion of our current book as well as helping decide our next selection.

This is what you missed at our last bookclub meeting:

We read Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas by John Scalzi. A Star Trek parody in the vein of Galaxy Quest, Redshirts follows a group of easily-sacrificeable characters on board the Universal Union starship Intrepid who start realizing that the high mortality rates of their colleagues is no coincidence.

This book had us split: some really liked the first two-thirds and disliked the last third, while others had the opposite reaction. The themes of each seemed to conflict, unfortunately. In either case, it led to a nostalgic discussion of Star Trek and other sci-fi television shows. Any easy read that sparked discussion, all in all.

When: Monday, August 13, 2011 – 6:30pm-8:00pm

Where: Filter, 1373-75 N Milwaukee Ave Chicago, IL

Cost: Free

2 Responses to Science Fiction & Fantasy Bookclub #35

  1. Hugh Howey says:

    I’m honored that you all have chosen to read WOOL for your book club. If you enjoy the book (or even if you don’t), come and see me at the end of August at ChiCon 7. I’ll be on a few panels and doing a meet-up with fans. If you read a physical copy of the Omnibus, bring it to my signing session.

    ChiCon should be a blast this year. I hope the book club goes swimmingly and that several of you stop by.

    -Hugh

  2. Anne says:

    I’ll totally make sure to spread the word that you’ll be at ChiCon! Thanks so much for stopping by: we’ll definitely try to return the favor.

    Enjoying what I’ve read so far! Thanks for creating a great new world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>